Bug reports!

flash · 100704

Offline flash

  • Administrator
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • **********
    • Posts: 13180
Reply #30 on: October 26, 2009, 08:08:11 pm
There will be a final test later tonight and hopefully a release tomorrow night,

All going well!! GOD!!

Coding for the love of it!


Offline spacefractal

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 4138
Reply #31 on: October 26, 2009, 08:14:22 pm
::-D. Why changed the mummy in Level 3? I really liked he walking into the air, and I diddent wrote about it because I was aware that was like in original and that it.... He could do something diffecent when he was in air, so he look like he flying? Elsewice the level do works as it should.

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.


Offline flash

  • Administrator
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • **********
    • Posts: 13180
Reply #32 on: October 26, 2009, 08:19:05 pm
Because it looked a little odd to me, also, moving him to the bottom makes it look like he is walking on the sand imho? Also, the head is best suited to floating!

Oh, Horace has been changed to make it a good 'race' level and also to make it much closer to the original.

Coding for the love of it!


Offline sverx

  • RBP Member
  • IBM PC
  • *****
    • Posts: 516
  • "Ow!!! What's that ?!?!"
    • My NDS folder
Reply #33 on: October 26, 2009, 08:23:41 pm
Good that the flicker bug was sorted out :) When you or HK got a spare minute, would somebody please explain me what was? Thanks :)

btw... is Horace supposed to walk safely on those red flowers? In my beta he doesn't die walking on them...  :-X




Offline spacefractal

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 4138
Reply #34 on: October 26, 2009, 08:34:30 pm
Because it looked a little odd to me, also, moving him to the bottom makes it look like he is walking on the sand imho? Also, the head is best suited to floating!

Oh, Horace has been changed to make it a good 'race' level and also to make it much closer to the original.

its a bit too easy now, but even with fast and easy, its even fun to cap milli secs of this level. I do want if I could die on plants like all other levels, but if it was not in original it might been better to remove them? I got it first time on 11.398 and could still beat it ;D.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2009, 08:40:58 pm by spacefractal »

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.


Offline flash

  • Administrator
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • **********
    • Posts: 13180
Reply #35 on: October 26, 2009, 08:40:25 pm
In the Psion game, the flowers were just decoration, and in keeping with the intention of replication, I decided that perhaps it was best that way in this version. It has the nice effect that the level is more 'fun' than frustrating, and also great for a speed-run level.

Ok, not too sure what HK did at the mo, but it goes something like this....
Code: [Select]
interruptHandlerVBlank:

stmfd sp!, {r0-r9, lr}

ldr r1, =XM7_MODULE_IPC
ldr r0, [r1]
mov r2, #0
cmp r0, #0
strgt r2, [r1]
blgt XM7_PlayModule

ldr r1, =XM7_MODULE_IPC
ldr r0, [r1]
mov r2, #0
cmp r0, #XM7_STOP
streq r2, [r1]
bleq XM7_StopModule

ldmfd sp!, {r0-r9, pc}

added to arm7

so that the music is updated via interupt rather than using the
Code: [Select]
ldr r0, =REG_IPC_SYNC
ldr r1, =IPC_SEND_SYNC(0)
strh r1, [r0]

that was used before. The ipc was causing the problem somehow? And only HK knows why! that is because he is God!! LOL

Why this caused such trouble, I have no idea! but... It works perfect now using interupts to handle the music commands.

« Last Edit: October 26, 2009, 08:42:13 pm by Flash »

Coding for the love of it!


Offline headkaze

  • Administrator
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • **********
    • Posts: 7838
Reply #36 on: October 26, 2009, 09:01:09 pm
Okay I know why using the IPC interrupt caused a flicker. It seems that the IPC interrupt must occur during VBlank and when the zlib decompression takes longer than vblank triggering the IPC interrupt will cause the screen to flicker.

Here is another solution I just tried and works on hardware as well. So we can actually move the code out of the vblank back into the IPC interrupt.

Code: [Select]
ldr r0, =XM7_MODULE_IPC @ Location in IPC for XM7 control
ldr r1, =Module @ Send module data location
str r1, [r0]

bl swiWaitForVBlank @ Wait for vblank to make sure IPC interrupt occurs during vblank

ldr r0, =REG_IPC_SYNC
ldr r1, =IPC_SEND_SYNC(0)
strh r1, [r0]



Offline spacefractal

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 4138
Reply #37 on: October 26, 2009, 09:23:11 pm
in the bonus completion screen, its seen the telephone used purple as the transperancy color when it rotate? (again is a none annoyring and you need to look after before you notice it).

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.


Offline flash

  • Administrator
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • **********
    • Posts: 13180
Reply #38 on: October 26, 2009, 09:29:16 pm
Lobo is on the case and as we speak, he may be listening, so Shh...

HIDE!!

LOL

Coding for the love of it!


Offline spacefractal

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 4138
Reply #39 on: October 26, 2009, 09:32:11 pm
I should been critic as you wrote in a email :-D, I just noticed the purple border around the phone. I guess is a transperancy issue? I have seen that problem my self when alpha is not used but used a color as transperancy in blitzmax as well.

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.


Offline flash

  • Administrator
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • **********
    • Posts: 13180
Reply #40 on: October 26, 2009, 09:42:14 pm
You be as critical as you want mate... :)

Coding for the love of it!


Offline Lobo

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 3119
    • Spitoufs
Reply #41 on: October 26, 2009, 09:44:47 pm
Yep, it's been fixed. It's a common problem when rotating stuff in PS and alike when anti aliasing adds values of magenta to the edges while smoothing them out. Probably the worst and the most hated thing to fix but not impossible.



Offline flash

  • Administrator
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • **********
    • Posts: 13180
Reply #42 on: October 26, 2009, 09:49:29 pm
I had a shelf on the wall that i rotated 90 degrees, and everything fell off and broke..

That was much worse!

Well, A little worse.. Sadly one of the items was a tin of Magenta paint... :)

Coding for the love of it!


Offline Lobo

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 3119
    • Spitoufs
Reply #43 on: October 26, 2009, 09:58:56 pm
Rotate the car like that on the wet highway and everything goes magenta instantly.



Offline spacefractal

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 4138
Reply #44 on: October 26, 2009, 09:59:23 pm
why do you use Magenta color as the transperancy color? its comon problem when you rotate things, due the color can been changed due antialasing (which mightbeen should been disabled if possible and does not look ugly?)

I would elsewise nice to see that bug.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2009, 10:01:08 pm by spacefractal »

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.


Offline flash

  • Administrator
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • **********
    • Posts: 13180
Reply #45 on: October 26, 2009, 09:59:44 pm
LOL

Coding for the love of it!


Offline spacefractal

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 4138
Reply #46 on: October 26, 2009, 10:18:20 pm
some bugs is fun to watch :-D. Priopenty these color bugs I have seen in blitzmax  ;D.

Godnight I hope to see last beta early tomorrow.

Good codning :-D

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.


Offline flash

  • Administrator
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • **********
    • Posts: 13180
Reply #47 on: October 26, 2009, 10:20:18 pm
The beta is emailed mate :)

Coding for the love of it!


Offline Lobo

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 3119
    • Spitoufs
Reply #48 on: October 26, 2009, 10:22:54 pm
why do you use Magenta color as the transperancy color? its comon problem when you rotate things, due the color can been changed due antialasing (which mightbeen should been disabled if possible and does not look ugly?)

I would elsewise nice to see that bug.

Using magenta in games is like using the green screen in movies, you will hardly, if ever, find magenta in nature in pure 255,0,255 (or lime green). To me it makes no sense using black 0,0,0 or white 255,255,255 for transparency in games whatsoever because chances of me using both Black and White are close to 100% per each game where magenta (even if I would draw a clown) would be used about...say 0% of the time.
That's the reason, basically. :D



Offline Lobo

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 3119
    • Spitoufs
Reply #49 on: October 26, 2009, 10:25:59 pm
Also, forgot, it's not a problem with transparency, it's the problem where games that need to be sharp and DO NOT use alpha such as in hi-res png embedded are being treated with rotate in Pshop without switching to 8bit mode first. In 16bit and up it will result in ugly AA thus adding the values of 'purple' to the edges.
To do it proper, regardless of whether you use magenta or any other color is to use the pixel based program to start with. Even better is not to rotate the image via tool but simply draw it!



Offline flash

  • Administrator
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • **********
    • Posts: 13180
Reply #50 on: October 26, 2009, 10:27:18 pm
What about if the game was,

"Magenta Mark and the case of the Missing Magenta Magnets in the Mysterious Magenta world" ?

Coding for the love of it!


Offline spacefractal

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 4138
Reply #51 on: October 26, 2009, 10:28:36 pm
haha.

I think found a another (can have connection to the another one I found earler):

"Hall of the mountain Kong" is now impossible, due you can NOT jump after jumped on the convolver. I guess its the same bug like in "where's the hyperspace button" as well the blagger level. So I guess it happens when he turn on a convolver and then jump is impossible. So big change is the bug allways fixed?

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.


Offline Lobo

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 3119
    • Spitoufs
Reply #52 on: October 26, 2009, 10:30:50 pm
What about if the game was,

"Magenta Mark and the case of the Missing Magenta Magnets in the Mysterious Magenta world" ?

Then you're fucked.  :D



Offline flash

  • Administrator
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • **********
    • Posts: 13180
Reply #53 on: October 26, 2009, 10:33:07 pm
LOL LOL!!

You said fucked!! Bad mouth LOL

Coding for the love of it!


Offline Lobo

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 3119
    • Spitoufs
Reply #54 on: October 26, 2009, 11:13:45 pm
I did? Bad, bad website, filtering my words!!  :'(

Ok, if not fukd, then you should kill the producer of that game, with your fingernails.



Offline flash

  • Administrator
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • **********
    • Posts: 13180
Reply #55 on: October 26, 2009, 11:43:21 pm
you could try f u c k e d! that works!

Coding for the love of it!


Offline RevStu

  • Altair 8800
    • Posts: 3
Reply #56 on: October 27, 2009, 12:12:28 am
haha.

I think found a another (can have connection to the another one I found earler):

"Hall of the mountain Kong" is now impossible, due you can NOT jump after jumped on the convolver. I guess its the same bug like in "where's the hyperspace button" as well the blagger level. So I guess it happens when he turn on a convolver and then jump is impossible. So big change is the bug allways fixed?


Hall Of The Mountain Kong works fine, I just did it right now on the latest beta (tonight's) and it's exactly the same as always.



Offline spacefractal

  • RBP Team Member
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • *****
    • Posts: 4138
Reply #57 on: October 27, 2009, 06:10:09 am
have not tested on the lastet beta yet, but it was just a regular bug (not on the level), due problem with convolver, but thanks you did tested before me. It was first noticed in the other level and thinking it was the same bug (also this was not level based, but just more a general one that just got fixed). The level is really easy elsewise normal.

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.


Offline flash

  • Administrator
  • Blue Gene Super Computer
  • **********
    • Posts: 13180
Reply #58 on: October 27, 2009, 07:17:31 am
There has to be something there?
I will have another look just in case?

Coding for the love of it!


Offline sverx

  • RBP Member
  • IBM PC
  • *****
    • Posts: 516
  • "Ow!!! What's that ?!?!"
    • My NDS folder
Reply #59 on: October 27, 2009, 07:54:43 am
In the Psion game, the flowers were just decoration, and in keeping with the intention of replication, I decided that perhaps it was best that way in this version. It has the nice effect that the level is more 'fun' than frustrating, and also great for a speed-run level.

I see, didn't know that before :)

HK: so you just added a swiWaitforVBlank before pushing IPC values, after the decoding and loading of XM. That was also my idea, even if I wasn't sure it would really work ;)

You guys are crazy the way you use this forum, let me tell ya ;)